Texas Toasty

Looking for adventure around every corner.

Pen Pals and Lifelong Friends

6 Comments

It was a day in March, a day like any ordinary day. I got up just like I do every day, put my bra on like everyone else (one boob at a time), and went off to work. Little did I know that on that day, a day that began so unimportantly, that my life would be forever changed.

The year was 2013, and it was the day the International Geek Girl Pen Pals Club was founded. And just exactly what was this club? What did they stand for? What did they do?

The club was founded on the principal that some of us just really really need candy. Good candy.

British candy.

When I found out about this club, I immediately knew that these were my kind of people. “I’m a geek girl!” I exclaimed as I signed up immediately, angsting over exactly which of the multitude of geek loves I possess I would make it into my Top Five. “I need candy!” I told my first pen pal. Historically, I don’t really need candy, but when your pen pal is from the UK, the letter is really just a formality, right?**

I honestly can’t remember what my life was like before I joined the club. It’s like they replaced all my memories of life before the IGGPPC with kittens and unicorns and rainbows. And honestly, is that really a crime? You don’t need a life before something this wonderful. That’s all just extra baggage that gets in the way of togetherness and s’mores.

A little over a year ago, I joined the staff of the IGGPPC. I was ecstatic! I honestly still don’t know why they chose me. I’m in awe every day of the amazing girls that surround me, all with wonderful skills and abilities. Their enthusiasm and sheer talent drives me to try harder, strive to impress, and bask in the collective shared love. My IGGPPC friends, they’re like my sisters. I tell them everything from my greatest achievements to the solidity of my poo. And, as much as that is way too much information, they care about my poo, just as much as they care about anything else going on in my life. If we all hung out in real life, our periods would be synced.

So what does this really have anything to do with getting a pen pal? Nothing, really. The pen pal experience is what you make it. The community is there, and anyone is welcome to get involved, make friends, share stories, join a tea or sock swap, participate in challenges, hunt achievements. Or you can sign up for a pen pal, get a pen pal, and write letters to your pen pal. Things pen pals do. Those things are perfectly okay too. Pen pals don’t necessarily have to know about your poo. (But they secretly want to.)

If you’re interested in getting a pen pal, you should really check out the International Geek Girl Pen Pals Club. And I’m not just endorsing it because I work there. I’m endorsing because it changed my life. And that’s something to talk about.

Pen pal sign-ups open on the 15th of every month and close on the last day of the month. After that, you’re paired with your new best friend based on your interests and then the fun begins! Who knows? Maybe you and I will get paired! (Please send candy.)

**Just kidding, please send your pen pal candy if you wish to receive candy. And send her lots of letters. Because we all need mail love, and friends don’t let friends go without candy.

Before I end this, I would like to share one more thing. These girls that I adore so much, I met several of them last year, and this makes me really happy. Here they all are, and I thank each and every one of them for spending time with me, going out of their way to see me, and for being my friends.

IMG_0199-2

Meeting Stewie and Joanna to go to the Geekies for the IGGPPC was one of the highlights of my year!

IMG_3258-2

Though it’s probably tied for first with Sami coming from Australia to hang out with me and visit NASA and do Thanksgiving and stuff.

IMG_2571-2Well, the Hot Air Balloon Fiesta was pretty marvelous as well. I got to hang out with Kristy and her pups too!

IMG_0973

Summer visited me in Texas and I made her and her husband chicken pot pie!

IMG_3554

And Joanna and her husband came through Texas and we went to the renaissance festival!

IMG_3024

More Renaissance Festival pictures! Joanna and I hung out with Melissa!

IMG_2711-2-2

Danica came to Texas and we got to meet up for a bit!

Author: toastytreat

I am a girl with more hobbies than I can keep track of. My two favorite things to do are to take pictures and write. I am blogging to share the things I love and things I'm passionate about.

6 thoughts on “Pen Pals and Lifelong Friends

  1. I can’t believe it’s almost been two years already!! Time files when you find the most amazing people to make friends with. ♥♥

  2. Toasty this is so sweet!! I’ve been amazed at the positive and supportive community the IGGPPC attracted. Love being a part of it!

    You’re doing a great job! Also, love your GlaDOS and Chell t-shirt! XD

Leave a Reply

