Texas Toasty

Looking for adventure around every corner.

Review: My Geeky Goodies Subscription Box + Code

Leave a comment

Note: I originally posted this review on the International Geek Girl Pen Pals Club blog on Semptember 2nd, 2014. This is a repost, since I worked really hard on it and I enjoyed the service, so I wanted to share it on my own blog.
______

Hello, Iggles! Today I’m reviewing a subscription box sent to me by the company, My Geeky Goodies! They’re a fairly new geeky swag type of subscription box, coming into a market that’s already got some pretty serious contenders, so let’s see how they did!

The box was nice and big, though it wasn’t stuffed. I’m assuming they’re leaving room for possibly larger items in the future. It was one of the largest packages for subscription boxes I’ve gotten, so just letting you know it might not fit in your mailbox if they continue to use the same box! Each box is guaranteed to contain either a t-shirt OR a Funko POP! vinyl figure. As a special gift to My Geeky Goodies founders, this box included both of those items as well as a Game of Thrones Mystery Mini.

Box Contents:

Funko Pop! Marvel: Guardians of the Galaxy – Groot:

groot

This is a Groot bobblehead brought from Funko. The Pop! line is their more stylized line and he’s a nice, good quality vinyl figure. These retail for about $10-13 here in the US, but Groot has been so popular I hear he’s becoming hard to find.

Funko Disney 3D Maleficent Bookmark:

bookmark

This is a fun little bookmark and something I haven’t seen before. For those of you that still read real books, this would be perfect! It’s nice quality and the head has good detail, something we’ve come to expect from Funko. This bookmark ranges from about $8-10 depending on where you get it.

Hulk Marvel Floppet: 

floppet

This was another item I hadn’t seen before. These have velcro rings on the back so they can be worn as a ring, attached to a bag or purse (or anything else you can come up with), or worn with multiple Floppets as a bracelet. It’s cute and bright and there seem to be a fairly wide range of Floppets to choose from. These range from about $4-6 depending on where you can find them.

Funko Game of Thrones Mystery Mini Blind Box: (special gift)

got

Yes, another Funko product. And why not? Their products are top notch! This was a Game of Thrones blind box and I got Rhaegal, the green dragon. Some of these have better odds to get than others and there’s a chance you’ll get a pretty rare one, so that’s fun! Unless you’re like me and you have terrible luck. I will say, if I just had this dragon sitting out on my mantle, I don’t think many people would be able to tell that it’s from Game of Thrones. I’m sure if I would have gotten a more recognizable character it would have been different. But again, I have the worst luck with blind boxes! These range from about $6-8.

Heisenbear T-Shirt: (special gift)

IMG_0420

This is a Unisex t-shirt. When you sign up, you put in your t-shirt size so they know what to send. I put in a Large and it’s about right, normal size for t-shirts. It’s Anvil brand and 60% polyester, 40% cotton. It’s nice and soft, bright colors and high quality print. Depending on where you can find a shirt like this, I would price it at anywhere between $13 (That’s teefury price plus shipping) up to $20 or even $25.

Funko Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Tin-Tastic Activity Set:

turtle

This tin is fun and it contains a sheet of TMNT stickers, two adorable and well-detailed turtle erasers, and two TMNT pencils. The price on this ranges from about $9-12.

Star Wars Darth Vader Imperial Cherry Sours: 

vader

A Darth Vader tin filled with candies stamped with the Imperial Crest. Luckily these were in a bag for freshness, etc because I had to pry this thing open and they would have fallen all over the ground if they were loose in the tin. These range from about $4-6.

IMG_0458

Price: There are three subscription tiers. For US customers, you can do a month-to-month subscription that’ll cost you $24.99 a month. A 3 month plan will cost you $71.91 which comes out to $23.97 a month, and a 6 month plan costs $137.94 and comes out to $22.99 a month. This includes shipping in the USA. If you’re in Canada, it’ll go up about $10 a month to include the shipping ($34.99 for month-to-month) and if you’re international (Non-USA or Canada), it’ll cost ya about $17 more to include shipping ($41.99 for a month-to-month box).

Value:  The items in this box totaled about $55-75, which is an amazing value for a $25 box! But I wouldn’t expect the next box to value quite as much, considering the normal boxes will only get a Funko POP! or a t-shirt and the mystery mini was also extra for the first box. That being said, the boxes should still sit in the $40ish range,  so I expect them to continue being a good value. If you’re outside the USA, some of these items might not be available to you unless you import them and pay extra shipping, so your value might be higher just from shipping and import costs.

Quality: Everything in this box was a good quality. There were a lot of Funko items, but that’s really only a bad thing if you already have a lot of Funko stuff or if you don’t really like Funko’s style. They make quality stuff.

Bottom Line: Nothing was really obscure, fandom-wise and there were several topical items that related to more recent releases. I would love to see if My Geeky Goodies starts doing themed boxes like LootCrate does, but it wouldn’t necessarily be a requirement. I think this box was a great value and full of geeky fun. I’m curious to see what their next boxes will contain! If this box has you interested, head over to My Geeky Goodies and check them out! Use the special code IGGPPC_SEPT and you’ll get 10% off your first box!

I also did a video version of this review. This is the first time I’ve ever done something like this, so let me know if you like it and which type of review you prefer. Text and pictures, video, or both!

Interested in more subscription box reviews? Click to read more!

Do you have a subscription box you want reviewed? Email us at info@geekgirlpenpals.com!

Featured Image from the My Geeky Goodies Website.

Author: toastytreat

I am a girl with more hobbies than I can keep track of. My two favorite things to do are to take pictures and write. I am blogging to share the things I love and things I'm passionate about.

Leave a Reply

