Texas Toasty

Looking for adventure around every corner.

Tea Review Tuesday – Elevenses Blend

10 Comments

Slight delay on my weekly tea review. Yesterday was crazy! Here it is now, though! Better late than never! Also, I’m reposting this, because there were issues with the comments that I couldn’t figure out how to fix. I really hope it works now!

13074768814_c292b50caa_o

Elevenses is a tea blend I was curious to try from the first time I happened upon it. Unfortunately, every time I made a tea order, it was out of stock. Every. Single. Time! Exasperated, I whined to the blend’s creator on twitter (she can’t influence the availability of teas, but I was feeling particularly whiny). The lovely person she is, she offered to send me an extra bag she had for the price I’d pay on Adagio plus the cost of shipping! I immediately took her up on the offer and was excited to get my bag in the mail.

This tea blend did not disappoint. First, it smells delicious. It has a strong vanilla scent, which isn’t bad, but you don’t really smell much else. But that’s okay, because it’s a wonderfully delicious scent and it smells like something I’d rather eat than drink. The first thing you notice after steeping is the light taste from the white blueberry tea, and then you taste the cream, which blends nicely with the subtle taste of the vanilla oolong. The balance is great and you don’t even need to add milk or cream to the tea, because the tea has a natural creamy flavor built into the mixture. Of course, if you do want to be bad and add milk or cream, it only enhances the tea even more.

As the white blueberry is the most delicate tea in the blend, I brew it at the recommended temperature for that tea, which is 180 degrees Fahrenheit for 4 minutes. . As with any tea, it can be enjoyed without anything added, but I like to add a touch of rock sugar to bring out the sweetness of the blueberry. The tea truly fits the name. It is right at home as a mid morning snack companion, though it’s something I could (and do) enjoy all day. It’s another one of those teas I just want to keep in stock all the time just in case I’m craving it, which means I will have to order more soon while it’s still in stock!

If you would like to try a sample of Elevenses, enter my giveaway! In a week, I will send the lucky winner a small pouch of Elevenses blend that would be enough for a few cups of tea or a pot. I will also throw in a few tea samples if I have any I think you might enjoy. If you don’t win, you can always buy it directly from Adagio for $10 for a 3oz a pouch, or $19 for a 5oz tin. It’s also available in the Tales & Tea Leaves Framed Fandom Set and the Tales & Tea Leaves Sampler Set.

Click here to enter the giveaway!

Also, congratulations to Joanna for winning the TARDIS blend giveaway! Your tea will be on its way shortly!

Author: toastytreat

I am a girl with more hobbies than I can keep track of. My two favorite things to do are to take pictures and write. I am blogging to share the things I love and things I'm passionate about.

10 thoughts on “Tea Review Tuesday – Elevenses Blend

  1. I love teas with a smooth, creamy texture. This tea sounds like it would go great with scones or shortbread. Which is kind of my measure for tea.

    If I were a tea, I think I would definitely be a black breakfast blend. Maybe Scottish breakfast with almond and just a hint of vanilla. Something dark and heavy that tastes best with a splash of milk and a bit of sugar.

  2. IM ON UR BLOG, LEAVIN U COMMENTZ.

  3. mmm! I’ve been wanting to try this tea blend!

    If I were a tea…well, I made a blend for myself that pretty much covers all the flavors of my personality 😉 http://www.adagio.com/signature_blend/blend.html?blend=46190

  4. I would be some blend of oolong, slightly nuttier than most.

  5. I have a tea ball and im ready for tea! Bring it!

Leave a Reply

